Di2 9070 rear derailleur sounds but not shifting

cyclingcris
cyclingcris Posts: 4
edited November 2018 in Workshop
Hi everyone. First post here. let me give a quick introduction of myself. Im Cris, I live in southern California and Ive been cycling since I was 7. I started with a mountain bike and rode trails until I was about 15. Thats when my dad got a good deal on a pair of Trek Pilot 2.1’s and Ive been mostly on road bikes ever since. Just recently I bought a used S-Works Tarmac with the 9070 groupset. I was not sure what to expect out of it as this is the first S-Works and first Di2 groupset Ive owned. no complaints about the bike but long story short, the rear derailleur just stopped working.

Keep in mind that I put no more than 150 miles on it. I hadnt cleaned the chain and cassette yet and they looked a bit dirty so I decided to clean them (Ive been working on and around bikes for the last 8 years, I know my way around a bike). I took off the rear wheel and chain, cleaned them, put them back on and thats when the rear derailleur stopped working.

Now Im aware that many will say “use the search bar!”. I did. Found nothing on what was going on with my derailleur. When I click to shift up the cassette, the derailleur sounds like its working (Like a whirring sound) but not actually moving almost as if the small inner gears werent making contact. I tried doing the crash recovery, switching wires between left and right shifters, disconnecting and reconnecting the derailleurs cable, and charging it but did not succeed.

Am I missing something? Is there anything else I could try? Thank you in advance! :shock:

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Sounds like the rear mech has had a bang and gone into lock down mode. The motor disengages to avoid the mech getting damaged and can be re-set by pressing the button on Junction A.

https://youtu.be/rUkKqNN7HVI
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.