Re: Help indentified This Racing bike

sakkie57
sakkie57 Posts: 28
edited February 2019 in Vintage bikes forum
Previous owner said its a Carter and Hall ( Carhall bike) Portsmouth. 1950 to 1980 light weight cycles. Bought frames from Witcomb, Bob Jackson and Leaders. Is my bike a Witcomb Frame. No decor but it looks original its unknown if it has been resprayed. Condition good. Fitted with Dura Ace chainset and rear , front Derailleurs. Cable campagnolo Bracket for cable at bottom. Rear drops on frame Campagnolo. Rigida wheels. Serial no 42859 at bottom of frame. By study over weeks I found that Witcomb frames are a close match but i am not a expert.[img][/img]DSCF5904_zpsvii5veto.jpgDSCF5899_zpsbakv3tld.jpgDSCF5900_zpsqcnuasth.jpg

Comments

• The brakes are Mafac. Time trial bars I cant explained. Maybe time trial bike. Also a Campagnolo Bracket guide the Cables to the Derailleur. Thank you Izak
  • DSCF5904_zpsvii5veto.jpg
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    If it is of the vintage you believe, the lack of decals and the unblemished paint suggests a respray, and the saddle, TT bars, brake levers and stem are a more recent addition.

Would make a tidy restoration / L'eroica type bike with some period bars, levers, DT shifters and saddle
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Literally could be anything. Without provenance or any other supporting info, you will probably never know for certain. Most of the finishing kit is not period, so will have been added far more recently. Mudguard mounts, clearances and canti brakes suggest the frame is more of a tourer than a 'racing' frame. Either way, if the frame suits you, then just enjoy it for what it is.
  • Interesting sweep at the bottom of the forks for the fork rake. Nice bike.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    front brake block needs aligning to the rim asap or it will give you dead disease.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote: