First endurance road bike

rmenghe
rmenghe Posts: 3
edited October 2018 in Road beginners
Hello everyone, I would like to have some help on buying my FIRST road bike. I have been practicing MTB for 15 years but now I would like to integrate with road rides.
My requirements are:
• comfortable road bike: my choice is therefore of endurance bike.
• Budget: 2.000€
• Brakes: disc
I selected these 2019 road bikes models, sorted by my preference:
1. GIANT DEFY ADVANCED 1 HRD 2019 - the most economical and comes with the new frame
2. SCOTT ADDICT 10 DISC 2019 - cheap but the delivery forecast is February 2019!
3. CANNONDALE SYNAPSE CARBON ULTEGRA DISC 2019 - the most expensive, over my budget
4. CANYON ENDURACE CF SL DISC 8.0 2019 - almost expensive as Synapse and since it is my first road bike I would prefer someone who support me to set it carefully.
Any opinions/suggestions (please...) ?

Comments

• Hi, I am currently shopping around too for a road bike upgrade as moved across from MTB 3 years ago. I would strongly advise taking them out for test rides so you get a feel for the different geometries etc... and what you want from a bike i.e. comfort, speed etc... If you have an Evans Cycle close they offer free demo with £50 refundable deposit and Giant offer free test rides too. Also worth checking frame warranty between brands as they vary a lot.
    If it helps I have demo this summer
    Giant Defy - Fantastic bike, value for money, comfortable and quick. Great backup support.
    Scott Addict 30 Disc - Best fit for me, very comfortable a little slow but probably changing tyres from 32c to 28c will improve.
    BMC RoadMachine three 2 105 - Very quick bike but found the geometry too aggressive (saddle to bar drop too much) and I want a more comfortable ride then I have now. Very expensive for what it is, looks like a copy of the defy.
    Synapse 105 Carbon - Lined up later in the month
    Focus Paralane 9.7 - waiting for them to come in stock to ride.