New Rider looking for advice on a road bike

JeemyW
JeemyW Posts: 61
edited November 2018 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm new to cycling - used to BMX, motocross and cycle for fun back in the day but haven't ridden a bike for 20 years.

Had a holiday at Centre Parcs recently and LOVED being on a bike!

41 and unfit - I used to windsurf but with 2 small kids those days are gone just now. So I decided, I want to start cycling to work!

I've done a bit of research and now looking for some advice and hopefully to buy something from a trusted member here in due course.

Its an 8-mile commute, and we are out in the country. Its 3 miles on the flat, then 5 miles all uphill. The way back will be mostly freewheeling!

So that's my first question, it seems like road bikes have 7 or so gears, but hybrids and mountain bikes have 21-ish. Given I'll be going uphill for such a long period, am I better with lower gearing, or have I misunderstood?

Budget is around the £300-500 mark. I had a look and saw the Ridgeback Velocity or the Carrera Subway 2 were good buys in this range. And that maybe if you bought those you'd want to upgrade the hubs, tyres or saddle pretty swiftly.

But it seems much more sensible to buy nearly-new from somebody - I saw an awesome-looking Principia here which I just missed out on by a day - the owner had built it and then found it didn't suit.

My other questions and queries:

- I never got used to drop handlebars on what we used to call "racers". But I understand now its faster for road, these days the brakes have "drops" (if I have the right word) that you can rest your hands on top, and so I think that's what I want
- although its country roads its 99% decent tarmac. So I probably have less pothole worries than city bikers - but I might be glad of better forks to absorb bumps?
- do I want a road bike or a hybrid?