Performance in the cold

dynamokev
dynamokev Posts: 38
edited December 2018 in Road beginners
Hi All

I'm pretty new to this cycling lark having started in April this year (too many running inuries!). Been pretty spoilt weather wise so far, so I've been improving quickly over the summer. However, in colder temperatures (this week especially in the VERY early morning) I've been a good 3-4mins slower over my regular 17.5 mile route. I've read about higher air density/resistance in colder temps so guess that could be a cause, but suspect a subconscious case of "can't be arsed" creeping in. Does anyone have more experience of this to confirm and any other likely factors?

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,267
    over the likely temperature range air density will vary a few %, but it's only one factor...

extra clothing adds both mechanical resistance and drag, oil/grease is a tiny bit more viscous, etc., plus the cba factor of course
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Plus the cda factor of course
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • If you are putting the power down, the heat build up from extra insulation layers can limit your output.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    Some of your energy is used keeping warm.

A dip in performance is pretty much the norm over the winter months....
  • It depends how early, is early, and if your lights are any good ( if you’re riding in the dark ).Personally, I find I subconsciously slow down, when I can’t see as much, when it’s dark. I also slow down because it’s ‘typically’ colder, and I really don’t like wind chill. There’s only so much decent cycling kit can mitigate. I find these things have a bigger effect on speed, than things like air density and so on, and so forth.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028