Completely new to cycling. Any tips or advice?

MrBistr
MrBistr Posts: 3
edited January 2019 in Road beginners
Hi.

So, to cut things short, I want to get into cycling. I’ve enquired about road bikes in my local store but I’m completely new to it all.

What are your tips for first timers? What do you recommend I get to start myself off?

I’ve been looking for good padded shorts but haven’t really seen some that everyone recommends. I know that it’s usually all down to preference but any guidance would be perfect!

I’m really looking forward to getting into cycling, I even have a few long distance charity cycles I’ve been looking into for the future as something to train towards! I know that it’s very early to say things like that but still.

Just wanted to say hi to everyone too. I’ve been enjoying reading everyone’s posts.

Thanks!

Sam :D

Comments

• Welcome aboard!

Bikes depend on budget, the Decathlon range offer some good quality bikes and kit, also the DHB clothing range on Wiggle is worth a look, to get you started.
    Paracyclist
    @Bigmitch_racing
    2010 Specialized Tricross (commuter)
    2014 Whyte T129-S
    2016 Specialized Tarmac Ultegra Di2
    Big Mitch - YouTube
  • CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    Hey Sam,

Welcome the madness that is BikeRadar! :D

In addition to padded shorts (I use the Endura ones that came with my Humvee 3/4 length shorts) I highly recommend the following:

-The best helmet you can afford (too many to recommend, try some on)
    -The best lock you can afford (This is a cracking deal)
    -Decent pump (eg Lezyne Pressure Drive V2 Mini or Topeak Race Rocket)
    -Decent multi-tool (eg Park or Topeak)
    -Puncture kit (any will do, Halfords etc)
    -Spare tubes (again, any will do but the Halfords self-sealing ones are good for commuting... if a little heavy)
    -Decent tyre levers (eg Lezyne Power Levers or Topeak Shuttle 1.2)
    -A good set of lights (eg Knog Blinder, Lezyne Zecto)