Free apps for smart trainer ?

sibike
sibike Posts: 257
Im probably going to buy a tacx vortex but not sure what apps you can use with it . Im new to smart trainers so don't know much about them . Do free apps even exist that I can run on my tablet , something like zwift but without the expense . Can you also get an app that simulates a road ride that you you see on your tablet screen ?
Thanks in advance .

Comments

• All you need is whatever comes with your trainer. Just do interval repeats. Forget the software. It's all just hype.
  • EBEB
    EBEB Posts: 98
    You can get an app that simulates a cycle ride on a tablet. I did it using a free trial period. None free though.

Best free option I’m aware of is to use the free open source software on a laptop (Golden Cheetah). I haven’t tried it for a while and they improve it mostly. I wouldn’t be surprised if you could import rides and recreate them. It used to use google street view, but I think they removed that feature when the person coding it left. Don’t know if it has returned yet.

If you get a Tacx the free part of the Tacx software is okay and allows control of gradient or power. The videos cost money though. I personally only buy ones rarely before they appear in a grand tour. It adds to the enjoyment of the stages knowing how hard they are. The Zoncolan stage in the Giro was brutal and I didn’t realise how flat the tunnels bit was before.
  • I finally got around to trying Road Grand Tours yesterday afternoon with my Direto turbo, tackling the full Stelvio Pass climb in ~1hr10mins using one gear (34/18). I didn't change the default settings for the turbo it gave me after sensing the Direto, whatever they may do, but the gradient changes on the climb up to and beyond 14% used the full range of my Direto's slope resistance.

I signed up for the beta back in April, I don't know if it's still open to newcomers.