Cannondale Supersix Evo Ultegra a good begiinners bike?

Santroy79
Santroy79 Posts: 6
edited September 2018 in Road beginners
Hello, I’m really new to road riding. When I was young I used to ride my brothers old style road bike everywhere and enjoyed it. That was 30 years ago. I did get a mountain bike in my late 20’s and used to ride that for about 5 years. I ended up having kids and to be honest I got lazy. Not the whole time I used to run/jog for years. But these last 5 years I got lazy and really out of shape.

I started to try and jog again but my age and weight it’s been painful on my joints. Why I’m turning to getting into road biking.

Which gets me to my question. I might be a little late in asking this but I just got the Cannondale supersix evol Ultegra . I purchased off eBay. It will ship out on Tuesday. The year is a 2015. I think price wise I got a real good deal. But I started reading and I read the Cannondale Synpse is the better direction to go for comfort and someone maybe over weight.

Just wondering if anyone out there can give me an opinion on if the bike itself is good and then if I made the right choice getting a pure race bike when I’m new to the sport, I’m 47 and overweight some?

Thank you

Comments

• It's an amazing bike but it depends how flexible you are and how much you weigh.

If you're not so flexible it may be uncomfortable as you are leaning too far forwards. Other comfort comes from tyre pressure and tyre width.

If you're too heavy the wheels which come with it may not last that long as it would stress the spokes which may break.

That said, with some riding, weight loss and yoga/stretching it could well be all the bike you ever need.
  • if you fit it its bloody brilliant and yes, perfect for anyone from novice to pro who fits it.

anyone who says otherwise is lying

#coolbike
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol: