What tools / brands?

steveatbath
steveatbath Posts: 49
edited September 2018 in Workshop
Afternoon

I’ve been riding for a few years now but have always used the LBS for everything that May have happened. I’ve just been working though my garage to create a nice working space and would like to do (be able to do) some of the bike maintenance myself. I have a decent socket set which has loads of bits and bobs in but I wondered what tools I should be either confirming are in there, or buying myself.

Also which brands are worth checking, some seem extremely expensive where as others come in multi packs.

My current kit is a 10 tool multi and 2 x tyre levers

Comments

• Afternoon

I’ve been riding for a few years now but have always used the LBS for everything that May have happened. I’ve just been working though my garage to create a nice working space and would like to do (be able to do) some of the bike maintenance myself. I have a decent socket set which has loads of bits and bobs in but I wondered what tools I should be either confirming are in there, or buying myself.

Also which brands are worth checking, some seem extremely expensive where as others come in multi packs.

My current kit is a 10 tool multi and 2 x tyre levers

Nice thread!
    Brands i use / rate
    Facom Spanners, verniers (good socket sets too)
    Wera Screwdrivers, socket sets torque wrenches
    Beta Tools (sliding t hex very good)
    Park bottom bracket tools hanger alignment, crank extractors etc the scissors are good. as are the cable/housing cutters. Ive got a decent wheel truing / building set up thats park as well.
    knipex pliers
    Halfords (professional range)
    Wheels Manufacturing Bottom bracket press and large bearing press (the bottom bracket and the large press are both long enough for Road head tubes too.
    Sealey punches

Must have tools for most things apart from bottom brackets and wheel bearings etc. i.e. most of the jobs you'll do can be done with these.