New bike with tubeless tires keep puncturing with inner tubes

Helkor
Helkor Posts: 8
edited August 2018 in Workshop
Hey,

So I'm entirely new to road biking. I've been commuting for many years, and decided to try it out.

I bought a Cannondale Disc 105 SE (https://www.cannondale.com/en/USA/Bike/ ... 76fca46582) which has got tubeless tires and rims.

The shop I bought it at however, decided to throw in inner tubes, as I guess that might have been the cheaper solution for them (even though I hardly think so?)

Anyway, fact is, I keep puncturing every ride, and I think it might be because it's not ideal at all to run inner tubes in tubeless tires and rims, rather it is a way to get home, should you ever be unlucky while on the road.

What should I do? Am I just retarded at putting on inner tubes, or am I actually right, and should I (politely) complain to the shop?

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    They don't puncture for no reason. Where are the holes in the inner tubes ?
  • Helkor
    Fenix wrote:
    They don't puncture for no reason. Where are the holes in the inner tubes ?

The hole is about a quarter a round from the valve. The previous hole were definitely a different place than this. There is a puncture all the way through the tire, so it doesn't seem to be a clench puncture.

edit: The puncture is pretty much in the middle of the tire.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,498
    If a tubeless tyre seals and holds air without an inner tube, then putting in an inner tube with a gaping hole in it should not stop the tyre holding air.

Take it back tot he shop and see what they say.
  • Helkor
    Singleton wrote:
    If a tubeless tyre seals and holds air without an inner tube, then putting in an inner tube with a gaping hole in it should not stop the tyre holding air.

Take it back tot he shop and see what they say.