Newbier than a NEWBIE!!

ImSidekick
ImSidekick Posts: 6
edited August 2018 in MTB beginners
Evening guys,

So... After thinking long and hard over the last 6-8 months about getting myself a mountain bike I finally took the plunge and got myself one. Now when I say I am newbier than newb it is simply because I literally have not been on a bicycle since I was roughly 15/16 and now being the tender age of 30 I decided to take up a new hobby and lifestyle. My first question is a simple one really and one that may seem extremely silly but WHAT NOW? :lol::lol::lol:

Obviously I ride it, I get that but I just wondered as I am extremely new to this are there any good websites and apps that I can get so I can track what I do and where I can go?

Also, I have purchased gloves and obviously a helmet but what other things should I buys in terms of necessities?

This is something I am really excited to get started with and I am looking forward to seeing all the views and experiencing the thrills of what is to come.

Thank you in advance for all of your help and advice in the coming days, weeks and months. As I say I am a complete novice so go easy on me.

Sidekick.

Comments

• slc123
    slc123 Posts: 407
    Hello and welcome to the world of mountain biking. As you've stated riding is going to be the best way forward. As you are completely new at it I would just get out and look for bridleways and get some miles under your belt. That way you will get a feel for the bike and your fitness!

You can check out "Strava" That will give you what you need in terms of tracking rides and routes. If you login on the web version you will also see some other peoples routes so you can see where the natural trails might be around you. https://www.trailforks.com/ will also give you some pointers in terms of routes to explore.

In terms of other things you need... Puncture repair kit, spare inner tubes, allen keys/multi tool. Perhaps a rucksack with a bladder in for some water.