First road bike for indoor training

skyric
skyric Posts: 9
Hi,

I'm pretty new to cycling...that's not entirely true I've followed the sport as a fan on TV for years but I haven't had a bike in ages. I'm looking to pick up my first road bike for use as an indoor trainer. The area I'm in is urban so I can't see myself riding it outside much if at all. Plus my wife runs on zwift and it looks really appealing.

I've read a few best first road bike type blogs that talk about how it's important to have a light bike with certain types of breaks but I'm wondering if I really care about these things if I'm riding indoors. Plus most of these bikes start at around $250 (or $500 at my local bike shop and none seem to sell used) and I'm wondering if I really need something like that to get training?

Would something cheap like the Kent 700c at Walmart for $129 be a decent start? Or is there something I'm missing, like maybe it doesn't have standard parts and wouldn't connect to direct drive trainers or I wouldn't be able to upgrade the seat or something like that?

Thanks very much for any advice!

Comments

• Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    If it's only going to used indoors all you need is a bike with no brakes, so anything will do.

Get as cheap as possible, strip off everything you don't need, strap it to the turbo and off you go. The front wheel doesn't even need to be true as all it's doing is keeping the forks off the floor.

In the past I've used a couple of bikes from the recycling area at the dump: scrub it clean, strip off everything you don't need and head off to recreate Boonen.

Bike, cables, degreaser and maybe a new chain should only cost a few Franklins all in.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • stueys
    stueys Posts: 1,332