which bike should I buy?

egray
egray Posts: 2
edited July 2018 in Road buying advice
Hello everybody, I am new to road biking and I am trying to decide which bike I should buy. I have a choice between two different canyon road bikes: The Ultimate CF SL 8.0, and the Ultimate CF SL 8.0 disk. These two bikes are actually the same as far as I can tell, except that the latter has disk brakes, which makes it a bit heavier and more expensive (price difference is 500 euros more for disk equipped bike and weight is 7.5 for disk bike and 7.1 for rim brakes equipped bike). Normally I am a disk brakes fan however from what I understand the Shimano ultegra rim brakes are meant to be very good, and if this is true 500 euros seems like a steep cost for an upgrade that may not be so significant. Moreover, I am not sure how seriously I should take the small difference in weight. Ultimately, I live in a large city (Paris) so braking is important I am just unsure if the extra 500 euro investment makes any sense.

I am posting the links here so you guys can see the bikes and specs for yourself.

https://www.canyon.com/en-fr/road/ultim ... l-8-0.html
https://www.canyon.com/en-fr/road/ultim ... c-8-0.html

PS: I was also considering the same bike with shimano ultegra DI2 drivetrain. It is more expensive than both and a little out of my price range but I'm not sure maybe this is also something worth thinking about? https://www.canyon.com/en-fr/road/ultim ... 0-di2.html

Thanks in advance for any help really need advice.

Comments

• Having recently had the same boggle and choosing rim brakes (6800), I would recommend going disc. Simply because braking from the hoods is much higher effort than I expected and if you are use to mtn disc brakes now, then pretty sure you aren't going to like it anymore than I do.
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211