Buying a bike halfway through "the season"

awesterhoff
awesterhoff Posts: 15
edited July 2018 in Road buying advice
Hi there,

2 months ago I started riding and bought a Cannondale CAAD12 105. I've been hooked ever since. Riding a lot of km in this summer beautiful weather and even got on the home-trainer when the weather has been bad.
For the last 2 month the only thing that has been in my head is cycling – especially digging in to the more nerdy stuff, learning about the different components, type of bikes, manufactures, tweaking different stuff and everything in between; And I still love it!

I've tried my friend's carbon racer, fitted with SRAM Red eTap and overall a lot better components... and was sold quite fast. It's of cause a completely different ride!
Therefore I've been looking at a new bike already. The Canyon Ultimate CF SLX DISC 9.0 SL.. I've been through their Factory Outlet too see if any size Large where to be found for a lower price, but it seems it's to be a very popular size, so there weren't many nor did they meet my requirement. At the moment there are some money to be saved on the Canyon, and I've been thinking about buying it.

What I basically wanted to hear answer: Is it really that bad to buy a bike halfway though the season? Got a friend who told me to back off, because Canyon will have new bikes next year and SRAM might introduce a new Red eTap system. But that how it will always be... New stuff get's introduced all the time!? Or is he actually onto something.

Hope to get some more insight from some people with more experience than I :roll:

Thanks,
Alex

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    May. Might.

The correct number is always n + 1.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Korhag
    Korhag Posts: 77
    cooldad wrote:
    May. Might.

The correct number is always n + 1.