Clothes, bikes and technique: Complete newbie needing some help

Ciaran1602
Ciaran1602 Posts: 4
edited July 2018 in Road beginners
First of all, hello all. I've "haunted" the forum for a while reading through some old topics and whatnot to get some advice and I must say this forum is a wealthy source of information!

To give a bit of context, I'm 23 years old. I'm not a "large" man by any stretch though I'm comfortably in the overweight category for my height (I'm 5ft 5). However I am chronically unfit having abandoned pretty much any and all exercise since I was 16 or so. The only two forms of fitness I enjoyed were swimming and cycling. And so, I want to take them back up again.

The last time I rode a bike for any real length of time was to college and back again a few miles a day on a Raleigh Chiltern with Shimano Nexus gears. I've been out of the loop for ages. I'm considering spending up to about £750 or so on something decent as I'm convinced part of the reason I found cycling so hard before was I didn't have the right tool for the job.

My "milestone" is to be consistently able to ride to work and back again. It's about 7.75 miles with, in the minimum gradient from Strava, a fairly gentle 200ft climb with a final 10% gradient before going back downhill again about 2/3 of the way through the route.

The questions are these: I've always liked touring cycles for their comfort and practicality but I'm concerned about their weight. I've been considering something like a Dawes Galaxy or a Ridgeback Tour but I would like to defer to the better judgement of the more experienced on this forum whether a lighter Carrera roadbike (etc) with suitable additions would be a wise choice. I have to carry a chuffing massive Dell laptop for work hence I'd like something solid enough to manage it.