Choosing bikes help please

peenutbutter
peenutbutter Posts: 6
edited July 2018 in Road beginners
Hi,

My hubby and i are complete newbies to cycling. We both want to lose some weight and get fit.Both nearing our 50's, and i have severe allergic asthma (its bothers me a little during exercise but only because i am fat & have sat on my backside for years!)
We are going out to Halfords tonight to look at bikes and don't have a clue what we are looking for :(

We live right next to the coast to coast route, so would mainly be on there or roads and maybe once on a while off-road when we are a bit fitter.

We dont want to spend a lot on money on them right now just incase we don't like it or i struggle. Somewhere in the region of £300-350 for the two bikes. If we enjoy it we will buy better bikes next year.

I also know i am over the weight limit for most bikes :(..I am 5 foot 5 inches and 242 lbs, my hubby is 6 foot 2 inches and 234 lbs.

I realise i am asking a lot for not a lot of money, but could anyone offer any advice on what to buy please?

Comments

• Jayme
    Jayme Posts: 48
    If you're budget is £300-£350 each, I would suggest something like the carrera subway 2 which is currently on offer for £280. Decent spec for the price. If it is a total of £350 max together, I would suggest going used. Not sure where in the UK you are located, but I know in Bristol, there is the Bristol Bike Workshop which rebuilds used bikes and sells them on with proceeds going to charity.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,005
    The Yorkshire Dales end of the coast to coast will be very challenging in places (Skipton - Pateley Bridge), or are you talking Ilfracombe to Plymouth (which is fairly flat)?

As complete newbies I think you should be looking at hybrids. Since you are a little out of shape you are probably going to need some low gears, which probably means a triple (three rings at the front) in that price range.