Removing and re-installing dropper post

Kjaer
Kjaer Posts: 22
edited July 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
Hey everyone

I have a Nukeproof Scout with a brand x ascend 120 mm dropper. It has become a bit squishy after just a few rides so I'm a it skeptical about the reliability of it. I'm going on a multi-day bikepacking trip with it soon so I'm considering to switch to a normal seatpost for the trip, both because I don't trust the dropper and because I don't want to damage it further by mounting a drybag to the seat post.
Question is how difficult is it to remove and re-install the dropper after the trip?
The dropper is operated via an internal cable.
So should I remove the lever and cable or can I just leave it and remove the dropper post itself? And if i remove everything any suggestions on how to plug the hole in the frame?
I'm really a noob when it comes to dropper posts so hope you can help.

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Just disconnect the cable from the bottom of the dropper post.
    You will probably have to feed the cable though the frame to allow you to get the dropper out. If you’re lucky there will be enough slack if you turn the handlebars. If not then just take the actuating lever off.
    Leave the cable in situ when you fit a fixed seatpost so you can easily refit the dropper post after your trip.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Kjaer
    JBA wrote:
    Just disconnect the cable from the bottom of the dropper post.
    You will probably have to feed the cable though the frame to allow you to get the dropper out. If you’re lucky there will be enough slack if you turn the handlebars. If not then just take the actuating lever off.