Conversion of Hybrid -> Road Bike

jonboyuk
jonboyuk Posts: 40
edited August 2018 in Workshop
Hi all,

I've recently started commuting 22+ miles a day and got an absolute steal on a hybrid bike! However, being a complete cycling newbie, I kinda wish I'd got a road bike instead. I say this because I'm starting to get invitations to events abroad (ie 700KM of Nice -> Barcelona) and am not sure my Hybrid is going to keep up.

Anyway this is my bike below: A Cannondale Quick Carbon 2 2017

cannondale-quick-carbon-2-2016-hybrid-bike-black-EV239432-8500-1.jpg

Q1. Would this bike actually be suitable for such long events? I don't think I've ever seen anyone do epic tours with flats?
Q2. I'm guessing I can't change this to a drop handlebar? I get that it means a new groupset etc, but what cost are we talking? I've also been criticized by some friends for buying a bike with a Sora groupset. Hey ho - what do I know? :oops:

If it helps, here's the current spec of my bike.

Frame Quick Full Carbon G2, SAVE, BB30
Fork Quick Si G2, Carbon, 1-1/8"
Front Derailleur Shimano Sora 3500
Rear Derailleur Shimano Sora 3500
Number of Gears 18
Shifters Shimano Sora 3500
Chain set FSA Omega Compact, BB30, 50/37
Bottom Bracket FSA BB30
Cassette Shimano Sora 3500, 11-30, 9-speed
Chain KMC X9, 9-speed
Brakeset Shimano BR-M355 hydraulic disc, 160/160mm
Handlebars Cannondale C3, 6061 alloy, 660mm, 3 deg rise, 10 deg sweep
Stem Cannondale C3, 6061 Alloy, 31.8, 12 deg.
Headset Tange Si 1-1/8"
Grips Cannondale Ergo Performance, Lock-On
Rims Maddux DC3.0 Disc, double wall, 32-hole
Front Hub Alloy Disc, sealed, loose ball bearings, QR, 32h
Rear Hub Alloy Disc, sealed, loose ball bearings, QR, 32h
Front Tyre Schwalbe Lugano 700x25c
Rear Tyre Schwalbe Lugano 700x25c
Spokes Stainless, 15g
Saddle Cannondale Quick Ergo Performance
Seatpost Cannondale C3, 6061 Alloy, 27.2x350mm