Upgrading my 6 spd 28T to 34T

srnsuki
srnsuki Posts: 8
edited June 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
I know I've already asked this but I would like to get some help on what tools would I need as I'm a total noob.

I could go to a bike shop but I really want to do it myself, I don't think it's a very difficult task if I know what tools/materials to use.

https://tinyurl.com/y84qstz2

This is the freewheel I'm going to swap for the current one.

I know that I need a specific tool for freewheels (the FR-1.3 for this one) and of course a socket to take off the rear wheel.

https://m.imgur.com/a/9dLfmem (This is my current freewheel and crank)

So my questions are:

1. Can I safely take off the wheel without messing out things?

2. Just looking from the pic, can you tell me whether the fr-1 will work with my older freewheel?

3. Will I need a longer chain? If so which one?

4. Will I need anything more?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    1) Only you can answer that ;-) You need to reinstall the wheel centrally and ensure the brakes operate correctly.

2) Cannot be certain. There are different types of spline - I'd be surprised if it didn't fit, but do not force it.

3) Maybe. Depends how long your old one is. And how worn - a 'stretched' chain may slip over your new freewheel cluster. A new chain then may skip over worn chainrings. And in addition your existing derailer may not have the ability to handle the 34t sprocket. In my experience that Tourney derailer struggles to clear a 34t.

It's not difficult as such, just a lot to be aware of.
  • srnsuki
    3) Will I need I new one? If so how do I know which one I will need? Thank god I asked this forum before touching anything. Should I just go to a bike shop instead?
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865