Laser eye surgery

2»

Comments

• I had my eyes lasered 10 years ago. I had quite lop-sided myopia (6.00 right and 2.00 left, IIRC) plus a bit of astigmatism in the left.

I always said I would wait until a friend of mine (optometrist who was studying for a masters at Moorfields, or something like that) had it done. She had it done, so I went ahead and looked into it. I am a statistician (actuary) so looked into the stats behind it and asked lots of questions of the surgeon before going ahead, which gave me comfort the procedure was safe.

The procedure was performed by Optical Express in their Harley Street surgery (?). I took the day off work (it was a Friday), had the surgery done in the morning, cab home while wearing sunglasses, had a snooze and took it easy over the weekend. I was back at work on the Monday.

It was a little disconcerting having the treatment, but not painful.

Since then, my eyes have both been 20/15. I am developing a little presbyopia now as I age, but that’s to be expected and at least I don’t need bifocals.

It was a fantastic decision to have the laser treatment. I quickly forgot what a ball-ache wearing glasses was, particularly for sports. My kids can’t picture me in glasses (my reading glasses stay in the bedside drawer and are only for bedtime reading).
    Never be tempted to race against a Barclays Cycle Hire bike. If you do, there are only two outcomes. Of these, by far the better is that you now have the scalp of a Boris Bike.
  • Tashman
    Tashman Posts: 3,400
    ben@31 wrote:
    Tashman wrote:
    Just out of interest, what's the job? I know I got binned from aircrew selection for the RAF when I had my eye examination at Cranwell as that's when I was told I needed specs. With that even surgically corrected was disallowed as a potential weakness in the eye when under pressure.