Vote: Extra $110 for Full carbon frame worth it??

Kinchi
Kinchi Posts: 21
edited June 2018 in Road buying advice
I'm buying a bike...one has Ultegra and an aluminum frame with carbon fork, weighs 21 lb. The other is basically the same but has Shimano 105 and is full carbon, weighing in at 19 lb. I'm a beginner rider but hoping this bike will last 20 years. Would you spend the extra $110!?? I weigh 125 lb if that makes a difference. I don't race, never will, but might like to be able to keep up with group rides.

Your vote??

Comments

• joebristol
    joebristol Posts: 327
    What bikes are they? Seem quite heavy for road bikes - especially the full Carbon one....
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Ali

Better groupset, money saving, you'll save 2lbs when you upgrade the wheels and tyres when they wear out.

The only thing that will last 20 years is the frame and forks though.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    If the 105 is the new R7000 I'd probably go carbon F&F with 105.
  • Kinchi
    keef66 wrote:

Sorry, what's the new R7000?
  • Kinchi
    Joebristol wrote:
    What bikes are they? Seem quite heavy for road bikes - especially the full Carbon one....
    https://www.diamondback.com/airen-4-carbon
    https://www.diamondback.com/airen-2-test-3943

Diamondback Airen 2 vs Diamondback Airen Carbon 4
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,803
    Kinchi wrote:
    keef66 wrote:

The latest version of 105, the previous being 5800.

Like the current Ultegra is 8000, the previous being 6800.

FWIW I'd second Keef's comment.
  • Kinchi
    Ali

Better groupset, money saving, you'll save 2lbs when you upgrade the wheels and tyres when they wear out.

So your vote is the carbon version?
  • mrb123
    Kinchi wrote: