Got £800 odd but no knowledge

slipslide
slipslide Posts: 4
edited June 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hi all
I’ve been riding for a couple of years on a Boardman mx comp £600 from Halfords, I like the bike it’s a 27.5 with hydraulic brakes and weighs 11.8kg. I ride mainly trails, gravel, park roads all “off road” but I’m not bob Haro so no jumps. Just enjoy tearing it around and trying to get quicker while getting fitter, no road riding or commuting. The last few months the bike has been a mess. Broken chain, break problems gear issues you get the idea, kind of shaken apart.
So I thought I would treat myself. But tbh don’t know what to look for so I found a few options and thought I would ask for some opinions. I’m also open to any other ideas. I’m 6ft 1. I would prefer a light bike for storage and roof mounting.
Bianchi ethanol £850
The Ethanol 27.5 SX3 is a fast feeling carbon hardtail with very responsive steering. It’s an ideal cross country race machine that will have you wanting to hit the trails with speed. It looks outstanding and performs equally as well. Bianchi have spec’d the bike with RockShox Reba RL forks with 100mm of travel and Shimano Deore/XT 10 speed transmission for quick and crisp gear changes. Shimano M396 brakes take care of shaving speed when you need to. It’s a great bike that will see you through your first XC race or a fast day out with mates.
SPECIFICATION:
Frame: Ethanol 27,5" carbon, 1.5" tapered HT, PF30 73mm, seatpost diam. 27,2mm, low clamp diam. 31.8mm, bottom pull, PM 160mm bottom mounting dropout 12x142mm, internal cable routing inside DT
Fork: Rock Shox Reba RL 27,5" Solo Air Fast Black 100mm
Headset: FSA Orbit 1.5E ZS
Shifters: Shimano Deore SL-M610 10sp
Rear derailleur: Shimano XT RD-M781 Shadow Design 10sp
Front derailleur: Shimano Deore FD-M618-L
Crankset: FSA Comet BB30 38/24T, forged AL6061, BCD 104/64mm
Chain: KMC X10 EPT
Sprocket: Shimano Deore HG50-10sp
Brakes: Shimano M396
Rim Sunrigle Helix TR25 Tubeless Ready 27.5"