170mm fork on 160mm bike

Rowan404
Rowan404 Posts: 104
edited June 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hello forum, I own a 2016 Rocky mountain altitude 730msl and would like to get a 170mm travel fork to slacken the head angle and raise the too low bottom bracket height. Is this a good idea or will it obliterate the frame? Thanks for the help.

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Draw it out and calculate the actual difference, it won't be that much at all.
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,449
    edited June 2018
    It might not be just another 10 mm of fork length. I believe that the axle to crown height varies amongst manufacturers and types of fork. So you may get lucky and find the bigger travel fork has the same or less dimension to your current fork. Or it may be bigger than 10 mm. I am not a expert on this, but I have read of this being a factor to take into account.

Similar concerns over the trail dimension.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Steve is right, the crown to axle measurements vary (amongst others), so a new fork could actually make no difference - or lower it further. Assuming it was exactly 10mm more, you'd slacken the angles by about 0.5 of a degree, and raise the bb a few mm.

Have you tried less sag, or increasing low speed compression damping (or volume spacers, if an air fork), to try and give the fork a bit more support? The latter wouldn't change your static figures, but when riding you may notice a difference. I'd have a play with what you have (if you haven't already!)
  • steve_sordy
    supersonic wrote:

Have you tried less sag, or increasing low speed compression damping (or volume spacers, if an air fork), to try and give the fork a bit more support? The latter wouldn't change your static figures, but when riding you may notice a difference. I'd have a play with what you have (if you haven't already!)

Good questions supersonic.