70mm stem and 25deg rise for Giant Contend Sl2 disc

musclebeach
musclebeach Posts: 116
edited May 2018 in Workshop
Hi,
I’ve been recommended to get a 70mm stem with 25 degree rise for my road bike to replace the 110mm one by a recent bikefit I had.

It’s quite a large rise but that just feels comfortable for me, possibly as I’m so used to MTB for over 15 years.

Just wondered if anyone else had done similar as it looks like the headtube is oversize so only a few stems may fit.....

I’m guessing a standard size wouldn’t be suitable, I’m quite new to the whole roadie scene

Comments

• Vino'sGhost
    Vino'sGhost Posts: 4,129
    depends who did the bike fit. I had a few done to compare and one recommended i rode a 52inch frame and a 140mm stem......... Im 6ft tall. None of them recommended the same or reasonably similar it was bizzare.

All claimed to be experts.....
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    52 inch frame ? Ok that would be a big bike. You'd need stepladders.
  • musclebeach
    Haha well the bike is an L and I’m 6ft 1 with a 34 leg, with the standard 110mm stem I’m so stretched out. He’s had a lot of good feedback from the club I belong to and I’m happy with his abvice....it’s just how easy it’s going to be to find a 70mm with a 25 deg rise or close to!
  • musclebeach
    As people may have seen, I got the stem I wanted....doesn’t fit! The holes between the stem are different on giants stem to the Bontrager Elite one I got.... does anyone have an answer? Looks like I’ll have to speak to a Giant dealer if not.. seems mad just to replace a stem
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    I'm guessing you don't have any more room on the steerer to add spacers to raise a new stem so is that why they specified a 25deg. rise? If you can still raise the stem here is a chart to get the right height and length with a different and easier to find stem that's not exactly 25deg. rise. http://www.yojimg.net/bike/web_tools/stem.php
  • musclebeach