Bought my first MTB need Help/Advice

Shogun-44
Shogun-44 Posts: 2
edited May 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

This is my first time since I was a young teenager that I have owned a proper MTB. I’m 27 years old now and I have recently just bought myself a new MTB hoping to get fit again, I am going up north of Scotland in September and I planning to take my new bike on a little adventure. I was hoping some of you could drop some knowledge on me as I have literally no idea on what provisions I would take with me when I go mountain biking!? Obviously I’ll take plenty of water and a Med kit but what provisions would I need to take for i.e the bike gets a flat tyre or something..

The bike I’ve bought is a Saracen Mantra Pro 2018 I think this is a good bike to start of with to get back into mountain biking again. If anyone has any more info if this is a good bike to begin with would be great! I’ll be practising plenty before I go up north so I can get used to it!

And tips and thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Welcome back to the world of MTB.

There are lots of threads on the forums about what to carry when out for a ride. THIS and THIS will get you started, but if you do a search you will find more.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Long_Time_Lurker
    Long_Time_Lurker Posts: 1,068
    Don't know where your little 'adventure' is going to take you - so be prepared for the vagaries of the British weather and associated conditions.
    I don't know how remote you're intending to go, but you don't want to get lost in the middle of nowhere, so an OS map would be a good idea - you can't always rely on your phone.