Sorry, yet another new mtb bike question from a roadie looking to diversify (Cannondale fan) ..

Spartacus1981
Spartacus1981 Posts: 254
edited May 2018 in MTB buying advice
Afternoon all,

I'll try not to ramble. I work in the cycling industry and live in Spain. I'm a road cyclist.

Basically I really want (like really want) to buy a MTB anytime now. I am fortunate to be able to get industry discounts or trade prices on a good number of brands, the brand I generally love is Cannondale so I'd quite like to stick with them.

I know quite little about mtb's but am an experienced cyclist, have tried mtb (just hardtail) and really like it. The things I am thinking about are the obvious questions such as .. Carbon or alloy, full sus or hardtail, size, etc etc. Where I am atm the mtb is quite 'rocky' apparently, and apparently a full sus is much better ? I have had both alu and carbon road bikes and love both so an alu model wouldn't be out the question. Also, eventually I will probably end up taking the bike back to UK so I want it to be able to cope there (can't see that being a problem) ..

Ok so I want a 'do-it-all' kind of Cannondale model if that helps and I'm led to believe that the ones I should be looking at are the Habit or the Trigger ? But then looking at them they look quite different. I love to climb and descend, but am not a typical racing snake build, as more muscular I guess .. Originally I was thinking 29'er (don't ask why) but it seems all of these are 27.5. How much does this actually matter ?

Budget will be around 2k pounds. So was looking at the following models as they fall into this budget with my discount (last two are slighty over budget but I'd rather buy once) ..

https://www.cannondale.com/en/Internati ... =undefined

https://www.cannondale.com/en/Internati ... 3eaccd6b7e

https://www.cannondale.com/en/USA/Bike/ ... =undefined

https://www.cannondale.com/en/Internati ... =undefined