Folding bikes

philips56
philips56 Posts: 7
edited May 2018 in Commuting general
I'm new to cycling. I bought a bike because I started a job just a couple of miles from my house but I sold the bike because I live in a flat and I found it too heavy to lug up and down the stairs.

So I'm thinking about buying a folding bike because it'd be alot easier to get up and down stairs, but I''ve seen some pictures of folding bikes that have supposedly snapped in two. So that's making me think twice about buying one. Is that daft? Is it not really something worth worrying about? I've got my eye on the Carrerra Intercity Folding bike.

Comments

• ricky_h-2
    ricky_h-2 Posts: 119
    Bikes that fold in the middle have a structural stress point on that joint. Having had one fail on me mid ride I would never use one again.
    My advice is to get a Brompton, you'll only buy once that way and they last. There's a thread on commuter chat discussing them in greater detail
  • figbat
    figbat Posts: 680
    Is weight or size the issue? A folder won't necessarily help you with weight, but will be less unwieldy. If it's weight then a decent road or hybrid bike should be easy enough to carry upstairs.
    Cube Reaction GTC Pro 29 for the lumpy stuff
    Cannondale Synapse alloy with 'guards for the winter roads
    Fuji Altamira 2.7 for the summer roads
    Trek 830 Mountain Track frame turned into a gravel bike - for anywhere & everywhere
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    A Brompton is bomb proof. I'd not choose it for weight though - my road bikes are much lighter but cumbersome getting up and down stairs.
  • Unless you're a heavy weight (i.e. weigh over 105kg), Bommies are the way to go, pointless to get anything else.

They maintain their value
    The parts are standard and easy to get hold of
    Well built/sturdy
    Chick magnets (of the nerdy sort)
    Fold the bestest of any two wheeler
    Quick on the start

Everyone is getting them now, join the trend.