Training / Club / Advice Required

jondavis30
jondavis30 Posts: 5
edited April 2018 in Road beginners
Not exactly new to cycling, but had a break for two years due to a sports injury and losing confidence in myself.

Was previously cycling around 100-200 miles a week, depending on what my work schedule was like.

I have just bought a new road bike and managed to grab a Garmin Edge 520 with Cadence / speed / HR Sensor for £200 brand new - may be useful at some point in the future with longer rides, I guess.

I work as an Intensive Care nurse, so my days at work are pretty long and tiring, I was previously in the armed forces, so I was able to take time considered 'work time' to train, but now I am unable to do this.

I am wanting to enter the London-Paris Cycle next year (not this year) and could do with some decent tips for kickstarting my training, as well as any decent training courses that they know of - Essentially, I have bought the Garmin edge 520 for training purposes that I can upload courses to it and use them for training, as I am not the best with orientation to home - especially once I'm a good 10 miles into a ride - I used to use my phone but this used to die within a couple of hours of riding and continuous use of GPS.

If anyone knows of a good club to join near this area, too, that has regular training events, I'd be interested to get opinions and thoughts on various ones.

With consideration to the fact that I do not drive at present, I would either need to cycle or use the train to get to said club or routes.

I have entered the Manchester100 as a reasonable challenge to meet, which is in September, so I have something to train reasonably hard for.

Any tips / advice / assistance would be greatly appreciated. Many Thanks.

Comments

• timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    It might be because it's late but I can't see which area you are in?

London? Paris? Manchester?