Suntour XCT-T308-PB Crankset Replacement

NewBikerBiker
NewBikerBiker Posts: 10
edited May 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I am new to cycling and I recently bought a very old 'Drag Ontario" to learn how to ride, and I wish to upgrade that bike and replace old parts with new ones, I really hope I could find some assistance from more experienced bikers here.

The first part I wish to replace is the crankset, the bike originally comes with a Suntour XCT-T308-PB 48/38/28. I am wondering if a Suntour CW-XCT-T312 42/32/22 would be a good replacement, since I noticed the original one have bigger size numbers 48/38/28 thatn the one I intend to replace it with 42/32/22, will that be much of a problem?

In that case, what do you think about a Shimano Altus FC-M31 48-38-28 instead? it has the same size numbers so I think it could be compatible with the bike?

I have tried to search online those size numbers but all info that I could find about crankset sizes is the lenght... I will really appreciate your help.

Thank you.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    If the chainrings are worn, you should consider replacing the cassette and chain as well.

The Shimnano would work. If you get one with smaller rings you'll need to move the front mech down a bit.

Whatever you use, you may have to replace the bottom bracket as well to get the right chainline. You'll need to see what axle length your current BB has, and what the replacement needs to check.

The link to Parktools in my sig has plenty of useful how to info.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Thanks mate for the helpful info and the useful Parktools link.