New disc brakes - zero bite

Ned Flanders
Ned Flanders Posts: 25
edited March 2018 in Workshop
I have just built up a new bike and fitted disc brakes. It's my first time with discs and I could use some advice.

The rears seem OK but the fronts I can't get to bite at all. Held in the workstand I can pull the lever fully to the bar and move the wheel with my hand. It's touching and scraping but there is no bite at all.

The calipers are CX77 with Ice Tech rotors and they're cabled up to 105 shifters so compatibility should be fine. All brand new components. I've given the rotors and pads a good clean to see if I'd got any oil but there is no change.

I took it to a hill to go down and see if they just need to bed in but frankly it was terrifying because there really is no bite at all. Holding the brake lever down made no difference to my speed whatsoever.

Is this normal for new discs/pads? Any tips?

Comments

• timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    You probably need to adjust the static/inboard pad.

Most mechanical disk brakes have one side that moves, one that doesn't - the moving caliper presses the disc against the static one by bending it.

It sounds like you are getting the bending but it isn't meeting the static pad.

You'll need to regularly adjust the static pad to account for wear.
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    Sounds like there is air in the system, you need to bleed them.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    robertpb wrote:
    Sounds like there is air in the system, you need to bleed them.

They are mechanical (cable) disc brakes not hydraulic
  • TimothyW wrote:
    I'll have a look but to my eye they're spot on. Same distance as the rear.
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,329
    TimothyW wrote: