Planning a Riding Event

bpcycler
bpcycler Posts: 5
edited March 2018 in Routes
I couldn't find the perfect place for this, as it's mostly a trail ride, but here it goes.

I'm in IT and ride to get my exercise in since my job often involves a lot of sitting. I've been riding casually for several years, with rides averaging 10-15 miles. Now and then we'll do a 20 mile ride; maybe 3-5 a year.

This year we're planning a 4 day ride on the C & O Canal path from D.C. to Cumberland (184 Miles). The days will be 43 miles, 42 miles, 40 miles, 59 miles; or 43 miles, 42 miles, 51 miles, 48 miles, depending on how we decide to break it up. Therefore we're going to spend several months working up to it so that we are physically prepared.

We'll be staying hotels along the way and plan to stay an extra day in DC enjoying what it has to offer.

Just wondering what you guys do to prepare for long rides, and types of food and drink you bring as well.

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    You definitely need to up your game. How long do your 20 mile rides take ?

Unless your terrain is fierce - you're doing rides that a granny could romp round.

Man up. Get some training in. Ride a few times per week.

You should be able to do much longer rides than current. If you aren't able to hit a distance longer than your longest planned day then you'll struggle on the trip. Especially if you're taking kit with you.

For those distances I would probably just take water and stop at a cafe for a bit of cake and a coffee.
  • bpcycler
    That's definitely the game plan. Several months of training for the occasion. Our typical rides here are 10-12 miles of hilly terrain, 3 times a week. One portion is 2.5 miles with an 11% average incline. We plan to start doing 20-25 mile rides 3 times a week in preparation.