Biking to work

Robbie101
Robbie101 Posts: 18
edited April 2018 in MTB beginners
Originally wanted a bike to keep fit borrowed a mates hard tail and been out with a few of my mates who ride enduros and and I’ve ended up buying a vitus sommet deore, it’s a brilliant bike and extremely comfy.
I’m still a noob and I feel that I should bike to work to get my fitness up and get a good feel for the bike as there a few good fields that I could use on my way to work.
My mates says it’s not a good idea and being a enduro bike I should only ride it on hard trails only.
Surely I am not going to wear the bike out quickly by biking to work every day?
Am I the 1 in a million that would use a full suspension mtb to bike to work as I can’t see what’s wrong in doing so, last thing I want to do is ruin my bike by biking to work on weekdays “would I?

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    I reckon this should be in the commuting forum, it might attract more responses.

You ride to work on whatever you like, aint no-one gonna stop you.

Of course you don't say how far you commute, it certainly won't be the best bike for the job (unless you commute on gnarly off road trails), knobbly tyres and suspension will sap your energy and your upright position isn't quick.

It's a hard life for a bike too, think of the cost of new chains and gears.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Ride whatever you like.

But it will wear out quicker, and do you have somewhere safe to park it?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Robbie101
    It’s a 14 mile round trip every day.
    I can store my bike within work premises so it will be safe.
    From both of your answer I think I’m going to get a 2nd hand hardtail just so I can bike to work in the summer months and keep my enduro for weekends.
  • 02gf74
    02gf74 Posts: 1,168