Recommendations Please

Stephen_J
Stephen_J Posts: 5
edited March 2018 in Cyclocross
Hi,

Please excuse me if this has been covered numerous times before. I'm a complete beginner, haven't been on a bike since I was 14 and I don't think a Raleigh Grifter is going to cut it anymore.

I'm looking for a bike to commute to work a couple of days a week and use at the weekend for going round the park. My commute is roughly 11 miles each way.

I was looking at the Boardman CX Team and the Pinnacle Arkose 3.

Would anyone recommend anything else that'd be suitable or be able to offer thoughts on the above two options please?

Thnak you

Comments

• Thank you, very much appreciated. Noted for future posts with the links, thanks for the head-up on that
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    I don't think you can beat the value of the Boardman especially when you factor in the extra 10% off with British Cycling membership.
  • rokt
    rokt Posts: 493
    trek-dan is right, the Boardman is a lot of bike for the money but I found it quite heavy. I've seen a Ridley X Bow with Tiagra on offer for £900, could be worth a look.
  • bendertherobot
    bendertherobot Posts: 11,684
    Lots of posts have gone missing here. So I’ll repost my recommendation for the Vitus Energie X at CRC/Wiggle. Particularly if you have 10%/12% off
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,320
    oxoman wrote:
    why are people going for cx bikes for commuting.