TCX Sizing

Mr Dog
Mr Dog Posts: 643
edited February 2018 in Cyclocross
Looking at a Giant TCX. I'm 5'9" with an inseam of 31". The Giant size chart has me just creeping to a medium. New to cyclocross so any riders advice greatly appreciated. :D
Why tidy the house when you can clean your bike?

Comments

• rokt
    rokt Posts: 493
    I’ve just purchased a TCX and I’m also 5’9” with a 31” inseam and I went for a small. The medium was rideable no problem but the small frame felt a lot more controllable and better for me in a race situation.
  • Mr Dog
    Thanks for the replies. I have a TCR in a medium and Defy in a small with a 130 stem. My best fitting bike is an R5 in a 54. If I look at the stack and reach then it's very close to the TCX medium but I have no experience with cyclocross whatsoever, the height of the BB concerns me in relation to how the bike will feel. The TCX also has a pretty straight top tube. I'll be buying on line so have little opportunity to test ride the two sizes. Leaning toward the medium but it may come down to which bike they have in stock by the time my C2W vouchers come through at the end of the month.
  • rokt
    I test rode both a small and a medium and I honestly think a small is the way to go.
  • Mr Dog
    oxoman wrote:
    Mr Dog what part of the country are you in, Giant at rutland have normally got them in as Demo bikes. Are you using it for racing / off road or commuting, if your using it for on road I'd personally get something different. I ask this as so many get them but don't use off road.

Thanks for the help people. I’ll be using it for commuting and off road. Already have a number of pure road bikes. I live in rural Scotland so a demo bike is not really an option. The ability to wander down a fire track or hop down a potholed lane is too good to miss :D
  • Mr Dog
    Rokt wrote:
    I test rode both a small and a medium and I honestly think a small is the way to go.