Newbie to indoor training with questions....go easy....

daveb99
daveb99 Posts: 273
I’ve been cycling for a few years and ride for fitness and enjoyment. I’ve done a couple of Sportives, which will continue, but have no intention of getting massively serious or racing. Other than last winter, I’ve always found that I struggle with motivation to go out in the cold / damp / wet weather - with the result that my fitness takes a significant dip in the winter - so I’ve started to look at Turbo trainers.

We have a cheap exercise bike - better than nothing (or slobbing out watching TV) of course - but it’s a world apart from riding on the road as you’d expect.

I don’t have a big budget, I don’t need a ninja-style training regime, I just want to ride more indoors (also when it’s wet during spring / summer etc) and enjoy it - and of course see my fitness improve steadily, so that I enjoy my outdoor rides much more too.

I came across Zwift a few years ago but it’s only now that I’m giving it some serious thought. It looks like a lot of fun, as well as being there for serious training if and when the need arises....

I think I can do this fairly inexpensively, this is what I have already:

- Choice of winter and summer bikes to put on a Turbo trainer
- 4iiii Precision Power Meter (with cadence - Bluetooth / ANT+) - can be fitted to either bike (both have same length cranks)
- Latest Garmin Speed sensor (Bluetooth / ANT+ I believe)
- Garmin Soft Strap HRM strap (ANT+ only I think)
- Choice of MacBook Pro or iPad for Zwift

So, I need a Turbo trainer. I’ve done a bit (but not loads) of research, I’m looking at budget to mid range and have my eye on the Elite Novo Smart - which uses the same resistance unit from the highly regarded Elite Qubo Digital Smart B+.