Ultegra di2 vs dura ace mechanical

Andymaxy
Andymaxy Posts: 197
edited February 2018 in Road buying advice
Hi all
Facing a tough decision here.
Ultegra 8050 di2 or dura ace 9100 if their cost are exactly the same. Same frame, same wheel, same everything except for the groupo.
This bike will be a race bike, so not one that I would take on a 15mph group ride.
I've read previous posts about this, but some arguments against di2 is the look of the 6850. But now of course after shimano updated their ultegra, they basically look the same.
So purely from a performance standpoint, which is better?
The weight difference is only 100grams by the way, so you can basically igonore it.

Maintenance also isn't an issuer for me. I'm a fairly skilled mechanic and have been working on mechanical groups for years.

Comments

• I guess it's what you 'like' - techie or love the tactile feel of cables . I have recently purchased a bike with di2 and I bloody love it. I had ridden it before and it was great and when I went back to my mechanical bike it was fine. If my new bike had DA mechanical instead, I still would have bought it.

The two groupsets are reputed to be amazing and I really like the look of the new chsinset shape and colour for DA.

I'd say for me it would be a question of aesthetics and my preference for non essential (but nice to have) gadgets or the poser factor of a top of the line groupsets. Neither will let you down! (Ok di2 is more likely to, but cables also break sometimes too!)
  • Andymaxy wrote:
    This bike will be a race bike, so not one that I would take on a 15mph group ride.

Sora
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • If your racing I’d take the cost of repair/replacement if anything breaks. I’d also look at what is most reliable. Di2 is pretty much rock solid these days but it can still freeze or you forget to charge it. DA is superb but I’d be p!ssed if I had a crash and even just smashed a shifter on the deck.
  • Matthewfalle