1x10 Options

ed1973
ed1973 Posts: 284
edited February 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all. This is my first post so go easy on me guys.
I’m fairly new to MTB and I’ve had a couple of trips to Cannock Chase, which I love.
Anyway I recently converted my bike to 1x10 with a 32T front and 11-42 cassette. Got myself a Shadow + M786 rear derailleur and GoatLink. Anyway I found I just didn’t have enough low gears to get me up the hills (I’m in my 40’s and need to get fitter). So my question is:
Is it possible to get an easier granny gear.? I’ve done a bit of research and realise I have several options but I’m not sure whether any of them are even possible. So.....
Can I get a 46T expander ring and ditch a cog, would my rear derailleur be able to take such a big top ring?
Should I get a 30T front ring and can you get 104BCD in a 30T?
Should I just splash the cash and go 11 speed 11-46, but would my 10 speed hub support this?
Or do I just get fitter?
Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Or go back to 2x and ride up hills.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • swod1
    swod1 Posts: 1,639
    cooldad wrote:
    Or go back to 2x and ride up hills.

Would agree here that might be better with a 34/26 chain rings etc.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I could do the whole of Cannock on a 32:34 lowest gear even when I was 50, so getting fitter seems most sensible.

The lowest gear on your bike is roughly the same as the second lowest on a traditional 3x9 setup, while you can get lower gearing you’ll barely be moving and making keeping your balance pretty hard, so personally I think it’s back to getting fitter.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • swod1