New bike supplied with better crankset but in the wrong ratio? Thoughts please.

WillBurnett
WillBurnett Posts: 6
edited January 2018 in Road buying advice
Hi all.

I should quickly say I'm a newbie who knows little about bikes - getting back into it after a 20 year break!

I used to have an old heavy cheap mountain bike but found I used it mainly on roads, with a little light off-road track use thrown in, and so I thought a hybrid might suit my style better. I want to enjoy leisure cycling not make it a chore or a sport.

I just bought a new Boardman MX Comp from Halfords. They assembled it for me. When I picked it up they told me that the crank it had been supplied with was bent but that they had put a better quality one on for me instead. I took their word on this and took the bike.

I like the bike a lot - but I was surprised that even on mild hills I seemed to be hitting the bottom gear quickly (yes I'm out of practice too) and not getting ratios even as low as my ancient battered 18sp mountain bike.

It should come with a SRAM via Centro 48/32T

It has been fitted with a SRAM Rival 46/36T

Now I can't find a price for an over the counter SRAM via Centro crankset, I guess it's only available with the bike. But I don't doubt Halfords' claim that the SRAM Rival is the better, higher quality set. However it's clearly a narrower ratio and presumably explains why the gear range isn't as wide as I hoped?

I am sure I'll be within my rights to require that the replace the crankset with the one that it should have had - if I want to. So at last I come to my question!

Do you think that I'm going to notice a big difference in gearing, especially low-range for steep hills and tracks, by swapping from the 46/36 to the 48/32 it should have come with - or do you think it's only a small difference and perhaps I'm better off keeping the supplied SRAM Rival 46/36 because it's potentially a higher quality crankset that is better in other ways that I maybe don't appreciate yet?!