Roadbikes for a Newbie

Grspn17
Grspn17 Posts: 8
edited January 2018 in Road buying advice
Hello,

I have been using a MTB since last 3 years and now wish to buy a road bike (endurance).
Since I have never ridden a road bike before my knowledge and experience is rather limited, despite trawling through forums, reviews and visiting shops (who push the bikes which they have).

Ive zero'd down on few bicycles but i thought it would be better to ask around a bit more before making a purchase.
It would be great help if you can provide your insights or even suggestions.

1. Bianchi Nirone 7 - 105 - 2017
2. Ridley Damocles 3 - 2017
3. Ridley Damocles 4 - 2017
4. Canondale CADD Optimo - 105 - 2017
5. Fuji Sportif 2.1 - Black - 2017

Regards,
Grspn17

Comments

• I’ve still got a NV7 I use as a winter/bad weather bike. It is still a very beautiful bike to look at and ride. You will pay a little more over others like a cannondale but the extra bit of style makes it work it.
  • lakesluddite
    lakesluddite Posts: 1,337
    Not sure that Cannondale Optimo would qualify as an 'endurance' bike, given the look of it. The top tube looks quite horizontal, as opposed to the usual slope of standard 'endurance' frames, but I don't necessarily think this should put you off, it'll be a good bike - and there seem to be some good deals on the 2017 version.
    Saying that, if it were my choice of these listed, it would be the Bianchi, if you can get a similar deal as you could the CDale.
    The others are all good bikes as well - you aren't really getting much different with these choices, so go for the one you like the look of best.
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,870
    If you are after a Cannondale Endurance bike, then you would generally be looking at the Synapse.
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18