Cycling New Wheels: Carbon Wheel Maintenance and Fear of Damage Over Time

phtan
phtan Posts: 6
edited December 2017 in Road beginners
Hello everybody,

This year I got some nice Shimano carbon wheels for a great deal after riding aluminum clinchers for three years. They feel great and look great! 8)

However, I don’t know how often should I clean the brake pads.

I read on some forums that sometimes the rim gets worn down/damaged and has to be replaced, leading to expensive costs, because of the brakes. My worst fear is investing in some nice wheels and having them slowly deteriorate because of poor braking maintenance.

So, my question is: how often should I clean the brake pads and wheels? How should I?

I really like my new wheels and I always feel anxious squeezing the brakes because I feel it eats the rim slowly.

I am relatively new to carbon wheels, so please no fire throw at me please. Also, first time on this site. Glad to be here with all you guys.

Any insight? How to ease my troubles? Thanks!

Comments

• dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890
    I'm not saying this is how it must be done, but this is what I do on my rim braked bike. I clean the brake blocks by picking out any alloy shards / grit etc whenever I've been out in the rain and also if they just sound noisy. If they're noisy, it's usually the sound of your expensive rims being machined away.

This is the primary reason why I'm gradually moving over to disc brakes (not starting a rim vs disc war, I couldn't care less what others use or prefer).
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Carbon wheels last for years - they aren’t actually very fragile at all.

Clean the wheel rims and pads when cleaning the rest of the bike - I use a soapy sponge then rinse off with a hose.

If using in wet gritty conditions just hose down the rim and the pads after use and All will be well.

Every now and again just pop the wheel off and have a look at the pad.