3x8 to 1x8 Conversion

Spencerr
Spencerr Posts: 2
edited January 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
Bit of a beginner here, particularly when it comes to the technical/maintenance side of things.
Currently I have a Shimano Acera 3x8 Drivetrain, and would like to upgrade to a 1x but don't really want to fork up the $250+ for an entire new groupset. (Cranks, derailleurs, chainrings, shifters etc.)
Could I simply buy a 36t, or similair, and install that with my current setup, obviously ensuring that my current cranks are compatible, and simply remove the front derailleur, shifter and cabling.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Remove the small and large rings and you have 1x8. Leave the front mech on, adjust the limit screws so it sits over the remaining ring and you have a chain guide.

Cost = zero.

Or buy a narrow wide ring and you can probably do without the mech.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Just don't use the front mech ?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Without a shifter and a cable it would be hard to, those should be removed as well.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Uber_Pod
    Uber_Pod Posts: 110
    It's not an 'upgrade' as such, but it makes it simpler. Should save around 0.5kg in weight too.
    I swapped as I found I wasn't using anything other than the one ring.

As said already,
    buy a compatible narrow wide chainring (I got mine new for £20 from works components)
    remove the front shifter, front mech, rings and cable
    work out best alignment for the new nw ring and bolt it on
    start pedalling!
  • 02gf74
    02gf74 Posts: 1,168
    Removing two chain rings will reduce the gear range get.