Will a different bike be that noticable??

cmd205
cmd205 Posts: 107
edited December 2017 in Road buying advice
Morning.

I'm just getting into road biking. Been an avid MTB'er for years but enjoying the road riding a little more at the moment.

I currently ride a BTwin Triban 300. Bought it second hand 18 months ago for £120!!! Alloy everything and a cheapish groupset. It rides fine and everything works. I currently average about 16mph. 17mph on a solo ride if I push it.

I'm now thinking of upgrading to something a bit better but wondered what difference it's going to make. I was thinking of going lightweight (I'm only 10st and would be size small so expect weight to be important). Full carbon (poss even wheels).

What differences am I going to notice?

Comments

• mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    Taking a guess that you'll be spending something like £3000, compared to the bike you have that you've just described, it should feel like a completely different experience, fast, light, quick to accelerate, nimble with great shifting. The chances are it would be far more engaging and enjoyable to ride. How much quicker you'll be on it is debatable, a measurable and noticeable amount is likely, a few percent (possibly 5,10,15% ...more than that is getting unlikely).

Make sure whatever you buy fits like a glove, tune your fit on the bike you have until it's perfect if you can. First road bikes are valuable in this regard, you can experiment and work things out.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    As you have a MTB background, how much difference would a new MTB make?

Then it's the same for a new road bike.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • cld531c
    cld531c Posts: 517