Cassette compatibility question

Mharf
Mharf Posts: 6
edited November 2017 in Workshop
Hi all, this may be a dumb question but I’ve tried to research & can't find the answer. I’m new to cycling since July & bought myself a second hand cx bike. I quickly got the cycle bug :D Due to having kids & not being able to get out as much as I wanted (& not being confident enough to ride in the dark) I invested in a direct drive Turbo which I love & an extra cassette. It’s a 10 speed HG500 11-32

This week I found a cracking deal on a new carbon di2 11 speed Ultegra road bike which I couldn’t resist :lol: It is currently being built :P It is also 11-32

My question is, could I mount this new bike onto my Tackx flux with the 10 speed cassette & loose a gear? I mainly use it in ERG mode for workouts so I rarely have to change gear. Would this work or are they just incompatible?

Thank you :)

Comments

• mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    A 105 11-32 11-speed is only about £33, so why not buy that and sell the 10 speed one to get a few quid back then it will all work properly?

I don't get why you'd buy a £600 turbo and a bike that's what? £2000? and then fuss over avoid spending a net of probably less than £20 to have everything spot on.

Unless you wanna run both bikes on the turbo? In which case just try it and see if it sits in the gear(s) you want, if not, just have two cassettes and swap them on the turbo each time. Takes only a couple of mins to swap.
  • Mharf
    Mharf Posts: 6
    Thanks, the Turbo was a present & the bike was just shy of £1,600 :o

If I need to buy a new cassette then I will but as I have spent quite a lot on the bike & will be keeping the second, I’d rather not if I don’t have to. I will run both on the turbo.