Carrera Virtuoso crankset upgrade

kieran240885
kieran240885 Posts: 36
edited November 2017 in Workshop
Hi there. I was wondering if any one can help me. I’m pretty new to this cycling game. I have bought myself a Carrera Virtuoso 2016 model as my first bike. Has any one successfully swapped the crankset and BB for an upgraded one? Something like a Shimano 105 setup. Is it possible? I know the current B.B. is a cheapo sealed square taper. I want to move to at least an octalink rather than square taper.
Thanks

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Hi there. I was wondering if any one can help me. I’m pretty new to this cycling game. I have bought myself a Carrera Virtuoso 2016 model as my first bike. Has any one successfully swapped the crankset and BB for an upgraded one? Something like a Shimano 105 setup. Is it possible? I know the current B.B. is a cheapo sealed square taper. I want to move to at least an octalink rather than square taper.
    Thanks

If it's a square taper then it is almost certain that the frame has a standard threaded BSA type bottom bracket. If so you can take out the old square taper and replace it with a Shimano Hollowtech 2 BB (Tiagra, 105, Ultegra you choose). Obviously you will also have to spend on a new HT2 chainset

You will need some tools tho if you want to do it yourself - a crank puller to get the old cranks off and a special spanner to remove the square taper BB

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/x-to ... rd|31719UK

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/x-to ... -prod14914 if it's an octalink BB
  • Thanks. I wasn't sure if you could put ‘decent’ gear on it with it being an entry level bike.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    You can fit basically anything you want to it - mechanical only as I am presuming it isn't electronic friendly.