Long Distance Equipment Advice

Blazkowicz
Blazkowicz Posts: 2
edited October 2017 in Road buying advice
Hello everyone

I've been cycling for almost 2 years now. I'm fairly casual in that I mostly do road riding on my mountain bike and I don't have any special clothing or equipment. Even so, I managed to rack up 2000 miles in 2016 which I was pretty happy with. However recent circumstances make me feel I need to upgrade a few things. My brother unexpectedly passed away last month and so I am planning to do a 100 mile charity ride in December. The furthest I have cycled in one day previously is 40 miles.

The top item that seems to be recommended for such long rides is padded cycle shorts, which I'm definitely keen for as after cycling 30-40 miles in the past things do tend to get uncomfortable. After an evening of researching a good pair of long distance shorts I set my eyes on the Castelli Endurance X2 Bibshorts which go for £75. However when I checked availability they seemed to only be in stock everywhere in Small. In just the few days since then even those have gone out of stock.

So what I'd really like help with is choosing a solid pair of cycle shorts that are well padded and intended for endurance cycling. I'd like something that will be hard-wearing and reasonably priced. £75 is probably maximum. £50 is perhaps a more realistic target.

Another thing that I saw come up several times for endurance rides is clip in pedals. I haven't looked into this fully yet, but it seems like this will cost £100+ for cleats and the pedals. Would this be a good investment and make a noticeable difference?

Anything else I should think about getting?