ultegra r8000 rear derailleur barrel adjuster

turbo1191
turbo1191 Posts: 501
edited September 2019 in Workshop
Hi folks.. just wondering if anyone has any experience of the above? Trying to index my rear derailleur and the barrel adjuster is just spinning and wont let me fine tune the rear shifting..They aren't the same as the older adjusters and in my opinion they are terrible, hopefully I can get a hold of an older one and replace.

Comments

• indyp
    indyp Posts: 735
    I've no experience of the new R8000 groupset but the barrel adjuster has to be screwed in all the way before allowing any adjustment. Have you tried releasing the cable from fixing bolt on the dreailleur and screwing the barrel adjuster in all the way and then back it off a bit. That would normally allow for adjustment in other types, but then Shimano may have changed things again. A link to manual is here -
    http://si.shimano.com/pdfs/dm/DM-RARD001-03-ENG.pdf
  • turbo1191
    They've changed the barrel adjuster in the 8000 series and it seems its a weak point.. the actual plastic part of the barrel that you turn just keeps spinning - its a terrible design!
  • I have same problem.
    It is not working.

Contacted shimano but they don't know about more people having issues.

How did you solve it?
  • turbo1191
    I managed to get hold of a barrel adjuster from and older derailleur and used that..
  • Thank God - I thought it was me. You wind and wind and nothing happens. I think I will find an old style barrel adjuster as the new style is s*1t. :!:
  • You need to pull up the the barrel to engage the plastic tooth.
    Mine brand new turn on itself... Different from my 9100
  • Sorry to hijack thread, on the subject of the r8000, as a whole groupset, is there much noticeable improvement over 6800?

I ask as I am considering a new bike. 2017 model has 6800 and ‘18 has r8000 but is around £800 more expensive for in reality just this change.