Clipping out of pedals?

tonysj
tonysj Posts: 391
edited October 2017 in Road beginners
Hi All.
I've been riding now for 10 months and around 1500miles on my road bike and after reading posts on clip in pedals, which I have, it occurs to me that I probably don't unclip like the majority of bikers or use the right method.
I only use my left foot to unclip and for some weird reason i cannot kick my heel outwards away from the bike to unclip!!!!!
I always have to kick my heel inwards towards the bike and wheel.
Is there anyone else who has this issue or am I just a freak of the cycling world lol.
T.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    As long as you unclip, that's all that matters. Bit concerned that you only unclip your left foot though. How do you walk around with the bike still attached to your right foot?
  • With Speeplay pedals on my bike, I kick the heel out. But when I had SPDs on my hybrid, I almost always in lipped by moving my heel in, towards the stays. Whatever works best, and whatever you can get used to doing unconsciously.
    They use their cars as shopping baskets; they use their cars as overcoats.
  • sniper68
    sniper68 Posts: 2,910
    I recently had the same problem with some Look compatible Exustar cleats.They were the Red ones with 9degree float.I swapped them for Grey with 4.5degrees float and I can now twist my heel outwards to unclip.
    It's only ever happened with the Exustar cleats(I think) as I'm sure I was OK with the genuine Look Reds.
  • tonysj
    tonysj Posts: 391
    ibbo68 wrote:
    I recently had the same problem with some Look compatible Exustar cleats.They were the Red ones with 9degree float.I swapped them for Grey with 4.5degrees float and I can now twist my heel outwards to unclip.
    It's only ever happened with the Exustar cleats(I think) as I'm sure I was OK with the genuine Look Reds.