Standover height

gary_sparrow
gary_sparrow Posts: 181
edited October 2017 in Cyclocross
Recently trying out for size some cross bikes . I’ve noticed the standover height is a couple of cm higher than my road bike . Higher bb and cross tyres I presume . However I noticed I have feck all clearance over the frame .
Is it still the norm to size down for cross I should I go for tt length only ?

Comments

• sniper68
    sniper68 Posts: 2,910
    My Road bike (Canyon Ultimate CF SL) is a 53cm.
    My CX (Boardman Team Comp) is a 51cm.
    I have no previous CX bike experience but the smaller size just felt better.
    I’ve ridden MTBs since the late 80s so maybe this is why smaller feels better!??
  • ibbo68 wrote:
    I’ve ridden MTBs since the late 80s so maybe this is why smaller feels better!??

My wife says the same thing -)

What about the tt length on your bikes ?
    Boardman have long top tubes . Cx team in small has a 54cm tt
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Standover height is not really an issue in CX. If you're standing over the bike, you're not doing it right...
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    You don't want to bollox yourself on the top tube though....
  • tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    It depends...

I went down a size when I built my first CX bike, and it was a big mistake. You're on the bike for 98% of the time, and when you're on the bike you want a position that allows you to get the power down properly and to control the bike properly, which generally means a similar position to the one you have on your road bike. You might want to raise the bars a bit, but everything else should be the same. I compensated for my small frame by fitting a longer stem, but that just screwed up the handling. I never got that bike working properly, and moving up to the correct size was a revelation. If there's one discipline where you really don't want anything to compromise your bike handling, it's cross.