How much is too much for me?

NewTriGuy
NewTriGuy Posts: 2
edited September 2017 in Road beginners
I'm 35 years old and I'm just getting started Road cycling. I used to be a distance Runner, but lately I've been trying to get back into running but I've been getting shin splints and cannot get rid of them so I picked up cycling to strengthen my legs. I stay pretty active at work playing basketball and soccer with kids so I'm probably too active in order to actually get rid of my shin splints and give them the rest they need. Regardless I started cycling and I'm up to 20 to 30 Mi every time I go out which is roughly three to four days a week. Is this too much? I want to get back into great shape again but don't want to hurt myself also. I stretch before and after and I'm also hydrating often and protein loading after my ride. Any suggestions?

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Your body will tell you if you're doing too much. The more you ride, the more you can ride.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    mileage is pretty ambiguous ... if your 30 miles is from Bedoin up Venteaux and back down again .. then yes its probably too much for a beginner

Only you know ... if youstart to ache, or hurt .... do less
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Cycling is a lot more forgiving than running. I reckon it's about 20% of the effort - so your 20 miles 4 times a week is probbbbbably something like the load of running 16 miles a week. I don't think you really need to protein load after it.

Are you going flat out or easy ? That makes a huge difference.

Listen to your body.
  • I reckon you should look at hours rather than miles, 4 times a week is about right but as mentioned it depends on intensity.
    The right intensity for now equates to what they used to call (pre Heart Rate Monitor days) "The gossip threshold" so breathing should be so that you can (just) hold a conversation. This is the best intensity to build a fitness base and endurance.