I'm a beginner. This is my journey.

J40ADF
J40ADF Posts: 13
edited June 2018 in Road beginners
So...I thought I would start this thread for a couple of reasons;

a) Hopefully what I talk about in this thread will help other beginners.
b) I'd like some more experienced riders to follow my thread and give me advice and more importantly encouragement.

Firstly, as this is my first post I'd like to introduce myself;
Hi, I'm Andy and I'm 53 years old from Essex.

Why am I taking up/trying to take up cycling;
Fitness. In the past I've been pretty sedentary taking little or no excercise, not good for someone my age!
I've noticed my Dad (who is 76) struggling to walk a reasonable distance and I don't want to be like that in my 70's

So a few months ago I had this idea about buying a bike and taking up cycling, a bike used to be my main form of transport years ago so what could go wrong?
I started looking at bikes on the internet, wow! there are some awesome bike out there and you can spend an awful lot of money.
The trouble is, I know what I'm like, this 'new bike' would end up collecting dust in my garage.

I already had a bike, an old Halfords mountain bike (Apollo XC 26) but I hadn't ridden it for a few years and I'd let my teenage children and their friends borrow it. To say it was a state was an understatement.

So I decided to convert this old Halfords bike into something a bit more road orientated with the idea that if I could get into riding it on the road, through this winter then I would be justified in buying a new bike next year.

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    I'd not spend too much on the Apollo tbh.

Do you have a decathlon near by ?

Something like this - https://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-520- ... 22799.html

Get full mudguards for the winter. It'll be a far nicer ride than a cheap mountain bike.

Just call it an investment in your health. They also do drop bar versions if you want.
  • J40ADF
    edited September 2017